I keep the Sabbath on Saturday…

I keep the Sabbath on Saturday…

…because we are told to keep holy the seventh day of the week (Ex. 20:10)

… because God Himself rested on the seventh day. He told us to do likewise.

…because Sunday is the first day of the week (http://www.timeanddate.com/calendar/days/) – yes, indeed, Sunday. In most western nations Monday only became the first day of the week in the course of the last century. The U.S. and a number of other nations officially still count Sunday as the first day of the week. It is worth looking into “ISO 8601” which officially stated in 1988 that Monday is the first day of the week. This was a manmade decision though.

… because God has only called a little flock to inherit His kingdom (Luke 13:32) and most nominal Christians believe that Jesus rose on the Sunday which then apparently justifies the change of a Godly commandment. Can many be wrong? They absolutely can be and they are. The “big” flock goes astray while only a little flock knows and follows God’s truths.

…because keeping the Sabbath on the day God has determined brings great blessings:

If you turn away your foot from the Sabbath,
From doing your pleasure on My holy day,
And call the Sabbath a delight,
The holy day of the Lord honorable,
And shall honor Him, not doing your own ways,
Nor finding your own pleasure,
Nor speaking your own words,
14 Then you shall delight yourself in the Lord;
And I will cause you to ride on the high hills of the earth,
And feed you with the heritage of Jacob your father.
The mouth of the Lord has spoken.

–          Isaiah 58:13-14

…because Constantine the Great was a Sun-worshipper and was involved in changing the day of rest to the first day of the week (the day of the sun) in AD 321 – that was almost three centuries after Christ’s death.

… because God’s “law is holy, and the commandment holy and just and good” (Romans 7:12). And there is nothing that justifies changing a clear commandment just because we feel like: “Not everyone who says to Me, ‘Lord, Lord,’ shall enter the kingdom of heaven, but he who does the will of My Father in heaven.Many will say to Me in that day, ‘Lord, Lord, have we not prophesied in Your name, cast out demons in Your name, and done many wonders in Your name?’And then I will declare to them, ‘I never knew you; depart from Me, you who practice lawlessness!’ (Matthew 7:21-23). Therefore: “In vain they worship Me, Teaching as doctrines the commandments of men” (Matthew 15:9).

… because Paul and the Apostles kept the Sabbath. They were instructed by Christ and never taught anything else. Read the gospels and acts – they were never told to keep the Sunday holy. Christ only criticized the legalistic approach of the Pharisees who didn’t understand that the Sabbath was to be a delight and a help rather than a burden.

… because I need a day of rest. God knew what was good for me.

… because if I wouldn’t keep the Sabbath I wouldn’t be a Christian. What is a Christian? It is someone who follows Christ – that is where the name comes from. Christ kept the Sabbath. Shouldn’t I too?

… because that if I kept Sunday as a day of rest, I’d follow the easy ways of the world instead of the narrow gate that leads to life (Matthew 7:13-14). If I was conformed to the world (Romans 12:2: “And do not be conformed to this world”) I would be part of it and it wouldn’t reject me. But since I am rejected by it as different, I find joy and life – the Sabbath is a symbol of my calling and non-conforming to this world (“…Therefore the world does not know us, because it did not know Him” / “Do not marvel, my brethren, if the world hates you” – 1. John 3:1.13).

… because “the whole world lies under the sway of the wicked one” (1. John 5:19). So if the whole world (the majority) accepts Monday as the first day, is it not the doing of “the wicked one” (Satan)?

… because I simply love “having to rest”. If I kept Sunday, how seriously would I take the day? If I can change the “when” I can also change the “how”. Or in other words: Who knows a Sunday-keeper who wouldn’t occasionally work/do homework/play sports/watch TV for entertainment/travel on Sunday? If you know such a person, please let me know. I am such a person when it comes to Saturdays. (BTW: Travel doesn’t mean that you can’t go to Church or have an enjoyable time out in nature).

… because it just feels right.

… because the Sabbath is THE sign for God’s people (Exodus 31:13: “…Surely My Sabbaths you shall keep, for it is a sign between Me and you throughout your generations…”). Anybody who takes the Bible by its word and is serious about doing what it says, must keep God’s Sabbath on the right day.

… because one day the whole world will keep God’s Sabbaths:

“And it shall come to pass
That from one New Moon to another,
And from one Sabbath to another,
All flesh shall come to worship before Me, says the Lord.”

–          Isaiah 66:23

What a bright, wonderful future. God has spoken! The Sabbath is His day, nobody can change that.

3 comments

  1. You generated some terrific tips inside ur article, “I keep the Sabbath on Saturday Sabbath Family”.
    I’ll possibly be returning to your web-site shortly. Thanks ,Colby

    1. Thanks Colby for your positive feedback! We will be adding many more posts to this blog so please feel free to visit again whenever you like.

  2. Just what truly encouraged u to post “I keep the Sabbath on Saturday
    | Sabbath Family”? I actuallyreally loved it! Thanks for
    your effort ,Winifred

Leave a comment