To me the Bible is…

Doesn’t everyone need some form of measuring tool in their life? Who or what do you measure yourself against? A family member, a peer, friend, colleague, neighbor, societal expectation, a fantasized ideal of oneself? Well, for me the Bible is my measuring tool. It sets the guidelines, the expectations, the moral compass, and the goals for my life.

You might say the Bible is my handbook to life. Everything that is important to living a valuable, happy, meaningful life is detailed in God’s Word.  He, as our Creator, knows exactly what we humans need – and we need guidance. Left with no structure, boundaries, discipline or guidelines we are left floating in every direction, tempted and swayed by the strongest personality near us, not even knowing what is right and wrong.

Through the Bible I can know the instruction of our Father in Heaven. As any father gives instruction to a child, God instructs me through His Word. I am very pleased about that because it saves me having to try to figure things out for myself and make a load of very serious mistakes along the way! Life isn’t perfect but by doing what God says life sure is easier than it could be.  Prov 3:5-6 “Trust in the LORD with all your heart, and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways acknowledge Him, and He shall direct your paths.”

The Bible not only gives me instructions on how to live so my life takes a smoother path rather than a rocky uncertain one, but it also helps facilitate a very personal connection to God, Jesus Christ and the many men & women of faith that lived long ago. I know that God inspired every word in the Bible and by reading His word daily I can really listen to my Father in Heaven. 2 Tim 3:16-17 “All Scripture is given by inspiration of God, and is profitable for doctrine, for reproof, for correction, for instruction in righteousness, that the man of God may be complete, thoroughly equipped for every good work.”

Yes, the Scriptures also correct me. “…do not despise the chastening of the LORD, nor be discouraged when you are rebuked by Him; for whom the LORD loves He chastens, and scourges every son whom He receives” Heb 12:5-6.

The Bible also gives me an insight into the future. I know what is coming and I know why I was created. God uses the scriptures to reveal His wonderful plan for all mankind, and it is a happy ending! (Or new beginning…) We’ll address this topic in some future posts.

The Bible is also my parenting guidebook. I regularly look for instruction as to how to be a good (Godly) parent – it is definitely the best parenting instruction manual out there, believe me!

The Bible gives me hope, peace, promise, clarity of thought and calmness of mind. I take the entire Bible from Genesis 1:1 to Revelation 22:21 seriously, knowing that God inspired all of it. Nothing is invalid, nothing is fairy tale, nothing is false. I don’t measure myself against anything that doesn’t measure up to the standards God laid out in His inspired word. His instruction manual for His creation is truly a beautiful book and I am very thankful for it.

Leave a Reply

